Photo by Kasturi Roy on Unsplash

Should We Teach Highlights Now?

The uncultured highlighters

George Blue Kelly
3 min readApr 20, 2024

--

It was supposed to be just books I suck for. Turns out, “highlighters” equally holds the keys to my heart.

I was in a bookshop the other day to make a photocopy, when my eyes caught the rainbow aisle of highlighters eyeing me.

I left the shop with not just two photocopies of my documents, but also with a pink and an orange highlighter. And I plan to add green and yellow to the mix soon.

Just as much as I love reading books, I love seeing different colours splashed across meaningful words and profound sentences.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The utility and true beauty of highlighters aren’t only in the radiance of their color, but more about their graceful ability, like suit on a man, to make things stand out.

To call forth from the mundane. Give spotlights to the relevants.

It’s why we highlight anything – because we find meaning, significance and value in them.

If it stands out, we highlight. If it inspires, motivates or simply, tickle, we highlight.

--

--